${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
209-225-9463
Se Habla Español
Devoted to Helping
the Injured.
Devoted to Helping
the Injured.

3 tips for dealing with a crash in a work vehicle

Getting into an accident in a work vehicle can complicate things a little bit. Who is responsible for paying for your injuries? Can both the driver and your employer be held liable? What about workers' compensation? Here are a few tips to help you get through your ordeal in the Modesto area of California.

Know if you were on the job

The very first thing to understand is whether or not you were actually on the job at the time of the crash. If you were driving to or from work, you might not be covered by your employer, since you weren't on the clock. However, if you were driving to a business meeting when you were struck, it's more likely that you will receive workers' compensation coverage for the workplace accident.

Keep records and get the police report

The next thing to remember is that you need to have information on who caused the accident. If you cause an accident and are in a work vehicle, you may still be covered by workers' compensation. If you are hit by someone else, you could also be covered by workers' compensation. Alternatively, you may also be able to file a claim against the at-fault party in case your workers' compensation doesn't kick in. Keep important records, like the police report and your hospital bills, because you'll need to present these to your insurance agent, employer or attorney.

Be prepared to negotiate or appeal

In the case that your employer doesn't believe this is a claim that should go through him or her, you do have the option of appealing that decision with your attorney's help. Likewise, if you have to negotiate with the driver who hit you instead of filing for workers' compensation, it can work to your benefit to seek legal guidance on what to expect.

These are just a few things to consider when you get into an accident in your work vehicle. Remember to take care of yourself and sav e your records so that you will have every chance to seek a claim when you're ready.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
California Applicants Attorneys Association Avvo Rating Super Lawyers

Making a false or fraudulent workers’ compensation claim is a felony subject to 5 years in prison or up to $50,000 or double the value of the fraud, whichever is greater, or by both imprisonment and fine.

Disabled and need help? Benefits denied? WE CAN HELP.

Law Office of Rockwell, Kelly, Duarte & Urstoeger, LLP

1600 G Street
Modesto, CA 95354

Telephone: 209-521-2552
Fax: 209-526-7898
Modesto Law Office Map