${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
209-225-9463
Se Habla Español
Devoted to Helping
the Injured.
Devoted to Helping
the Injured.

Workers' comp available for injured workers in California

Workplace accidents and injuries happen all the time in California. Suffering a workplace injury can be very traumatizing and can make it difficult to continue working. That is why it is important for workers to know they have the right to receive workers' compensation benefits in California.

Workers' compensation benefits are available to workers who have been injured while working. These benefits can help workers pay for medical treatment as well as help replace lost wages if they cannot work right now due to their injuries. 

Workers' compensation laws can be difficult to understand, but all workers should know what to do after suffering a workplace injury. What should you do if you have been injured on the job?

The first thing to do is seek medical attention immediately if your injury requires emergency care. If you are able to do so, also notify your employer right away to inform them of the workplace injury. 

In California, it is very important to report your workplace injury as soon as possible. Failing to report an injury within 30 days could result in no longer being eligible to receive workers' compensation benefits for your injury. 

Injured workers can file a workers' compensation claim. It is helpful to know that your employer is required to pay for your medical care if you are hurt at work, even if you can continue working. Workers should also know that it is illegal for employers to retaliate against you such as punishing or firing you after reporting a workplace injury.

Workers' compensation benefits can be very beneficial after suffering an injury at work. Workers should know that they have a right to file a workers' compensation claim after being injured on-the-job. It is also important to report your workplace accident to help prevent future accidents and injuries in the workplace. 

Source: State of California Department of Industrial Relations, "I was injured at work," Nov. 20, 2013

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
California Applicants Attorneys Association Avvo Rating Super Lawyers

Making a false or fraudulent workers’ compensation claim is a felony subject to 5 years in prison or up to $50,000 or double the value of the fraud, whichever is greater, or by both imprisonment and fine.

Disabled and need help? Benefits denied? WE CAN HELP.

Law Office of Rockwell, Kelly, Duarte & Urstoeger, LLP

1600 G Street
Modesto, CA 95354

Telephone: 209-521-2552
Fax: 209-526-7898
Modesto Law Office Map